Review of Catholic App: Amen

The free Catholic meditation app Amen, which is produced by the Augustine Institute, has been helpful to restore my Faith after my last spiritually damaging psychosis. I downloaded the app first to see if it would aid sleep and anxiety reduction, and found that it has been a beneficial spiritual tool.

One thing that is very difficult with trauma is how harsh the Christian Faith can seem to be. Believing in God’s love and presence is a challenge after you have endured a terrible ordeal. What I have found special about the Amen app is that it is a gentle, but doctrinally sound approach to Catholicism, prayer, and Christian meditation. It has prayers to follow along with, Bible stories, Christian thoughts, and Bible in a Year. The meditations focus on God’s love and forgiveness and a relationship with Christ.

The voices are pretty good. Sometimes the diction of some of the meditations isn’t quite to my taste, to be honest, but most of the time the voices seem normal and soothing. I don’t think the app would be jarring for most people.

At first it didn’t seem to help directly with sleep or anxiety. I have since several times calmed down and fallen asleep while I was listening to the prayers. However, I will refer to another app I have found to be better suited to addressing those issues in another post. If you would like a way to study your Faith and pray to God with a merciful and sympathic approach, I would highly recommend Amen.

Published by

Nikki

I am a busy mother of eight great children who has had mental health difficulties. I write about how I try to live a full life with a mental illness, but from a conservative perspective. I am interested in guest posts if you have a perspective you would like to share. I hope you find some solace here!

Leave a comment